Music Activity Monday: A Justin Bieber Hello!

Happy Monday to all! I’ve seen many music therapy blogs write posts every Monday sharing some great activity ideas that they use and can be “stolen” by other MT’s for use in their own practice. I believe that there’s no such thing as too many activity ideas, so I figured I would follow suit. Without further ado, I introduce to you my very first Music Activity Monday post!

This activity is a Hello song I wrote for a resident of mine who absolutely LOVES Justin Bieber. Although I’m not a huge JB fan myself, I had so much fun writing my first rap! It’s also tons of fun to perform, because it’s not often I get to show off my mean rapping skills 🙂

Not only is this Hello song a fun way to kick off a session, it also addresses a few goals. Encouraging your client to drum and/or freestyle rap targets areas such as nonverbal cueing, creative self-expression, and following directions. The call-and-response aspect of the rap encourages expressive and receptive language areas such as impulse control and listening skills. I’m sure this can be creatively adapted in numerous ways to fit your clients needs, so unleash your inner Belieber and enjoy!

Hello Song  in the style of “Boyfriend” by Justin Bieber

Materials:  

  • Karaoke track of “Boyfriend” by J. Biebs
  • Drum of choice
  • CD Player

 

Lyrics:

Welcome to music, Ima tell you hello,
We gon’ do some stuff you ain’t never done before
Baby take a chance or you’ll never ever know
I got drums in my hands that I’d really like to beat
(begin drumming) *beat *beat *beat  for you
We’ll sing and we’ll play and dance a little too
I dunno about me but I know about you
So I’ll say hello to you in three, two…

[Pre-Chorus]
 Hello (insert name), how are you today?
 Hey boy (or girl), let me sing to you

[Chorus]
Hello (insert name),  How are you today?
Tell me how you’re doin, what you’ve done today

We can talk about it, anything you want

Hello (insert name), how are you today? how are you today?

Your client can use the next verse to improvise on the drum or freestyle rap about how he/she is, what he/she has done that day, ect. When the pre-chorus comes back in, you can either begin singing again or encourage your client to sing to you this time!

Have fun and keep looking for more Music Activity Mondays in your future!

Leave a Reply

