Home

This week wraps up my 6th week of internship, and it has been quite a busy one. We’ve had both Fat Tuesday and Valentine’s Day-themed sessions, a Valentine’s dance tonight, and this is the last week I have of observations because I begin co-leading next week! Though that is a lot to think about on its own, one thing seems to be on my mind this week over and over again: home.

Most people my age experience moving away from their families when they go to college, but as WCU was only 30 minutes away from my home, I never fully experienced that because home was a short drive away. This is probably the longest I have ever been without going to visit Runnelstown, much less Hattiesburg. I’ve never been the type of person to get extremely homesick, and I have a more independent personality so am just fine being alone. But this week I couldn’t help but to be thinking of my family and friends down South.

View of the tornado from Hardy Street

View of the tornado from Hardy Street


If you have seen the news this week, you’ve probably heard about the tornado that rampaged through South MS this past Sunday. My family was thankfully left unscathed, but several people I know have lost their homes, churches, and parts of their school. Although my William Carey was left unharmed, Southern Miss was not so fortunate. It’s been a rough week for my hometown, and I hate that I could not be there to help everyone pick up after the devastating mess. It is so bad that President Obama declared it a major disaster for Forrest and Lamar counties. It is a miracle that there were no fatalities (praise God!). I am also thankful that South Mississippi is one of the most giving and generous areas of the country, so I know that they will clean up and rebuild in no time!

A heartbreaking image of the devastation to USM's campus

A heartbreaking image of the devastation to USM’s campus

Being homesick is something that everyone experiences sometimes. Although the Baddour Center is home to all the residents, they will still tell me about going “home, home”. Many of them live in different states all over the US and only get to visit once or twice a year. If you are an intern or music therapist, you may be dealing with a client or patient who struggles with being homesick from time to time. You have also probably experienced being homesick yourself at some point in your life. So here are my Top 10 songs to use in sessions (or as personal therapy) that have “home” as the common theme:

1.”Home” by Michael Buble
2. “Who Says You Can’t Go Home” by Bon Jovi
3. “I’m Going Home” by Daughtry
4. “Country Roads” by John Denver
5. “Sweet Home Alabama” by Lynard Skynard
6. “The Long and Winding Road” by The Beatles
7. “Green Green Grass of Home”
8. “Homesick” by Mercy Me
9. The House That Built Me” by Miranda Lambert
10. “Home” by Phillip Phillips

Several of the songs on this list have certainly lifted my spirits when I have thought about missing home. They can be used in a variety of different activities such as lyric analysis, songwriting, and improv. Have you ever done an activity or session that addressed homesickness? Have you ever dealt with homesickness yourself as an intern or at a new job? I would love to hear your ideas/stories!

Hattiesburg, Oak Grove and Petal are still recovering from the disastrous tornado that hit on Feb. 10. If you are interested in helping, you can make an online donation at http://salvationarmyalm.org/hattiesburg-tornado-21013/.

Leave a Reply

